Masks Required In 12 Ohio Counties; U.S. Sets New COVID Record

(Columbus) -- Starting at 6 p.m. Friday, Ohio's mask mandate was required in 12-counties.

Governor Mike DeWine said during yesterday's press conference that Clermont, Pickaway, Lorain, Wood and Summit counties have been added to the list of areas where residents need to wear a face covering when they're in public spaces. The idea is to stop the spread of COVID-19.

Several other counties, like Hamilton, Franklin and Cuyahoga are already under this order.

Learn more in the COVID-19 Ohio Public Health Advisory System.


The U.S. has set another record for the number of new COVID-19 cases reported in a single day. The New York Times puts the total number of new cases reported Friday at more than 68,000.

Reuters news service says at least nine U.S. states also set records for single-day infections on Friday, including Ohio, Utah and Georgia.

A new global record was also reached, as the World Health Organization announced over 228,000 new cases around the world. Nations reporting their largest daily increases included Mexico, Brazil and India.

Ohio Public Health Advisory System

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content