Wynonna Judd, Trisha Yearwood Release Reimagined Version Of A Judds Classic

Photo: Getty Images

Wynonna Judd recruited fellow country megastar Trisha Yearwood to join her on a reimagined rendition of “Cry Myself To Sleep,” a Paul Kennerley-written song that The Judds — the beloved duo that Judd performed in with her late mother, Naomi Judd — released in the mid 1980s. The stunning rendition is one of 14 tracks set to appear on a star-studded tribute album to The Judds, set to make its debut next month.

"I was absolutely delighted when Trisha showed up at the studio on the farm to record 'Cry Myself To Sleep' with me,” Judd said in a statement when the song released on Friday (September 29). “We have known each other for years, but have never worked together. In today’s world of technology, artists often don’t get to be in the same room as the other person to record a song. It was so refreshing! I am thrilled with the song, and I cannot wait to sing it live with her.”

Judd previously announced the collaboration’s release on Instagram, gushing that “my heart cannot stand it,” to debut the new version with Yearwood. Yearwood wrote in the comments that singing with her fellow powerhouse country artist “is such a joy and a privilege. Thank you for this!!! ♥️♥️♥️”

A Tribute To The Judds will mark the legendary mother-daughter duo’s 40th anniversary. Artists appearing on the compilation album will “inject their signature sound” into classic hits by the beloved duo, including “Girls Night Out,” “Mama He’s Crazy,” “Love Is Alive,” “Love Can Build A Bridge” and more. Last month, husband-and-wife duo Blake Shelton and Gwen Stefani debuted their stunning rendition of “Love Is Alive,” singing the 80s classic on the forthcoming record. Shelton said at the time that he and Stefani are “thrilled to be part of this tribute album.”

  1. Girls Night Out – Reba McEntire, Carly Pearce, Jennifer Nettles, Gabby Barrett
  2. Mama He’s Crazy – Lainey Wilson and Dolly Parton
  3. Why Not Me – Megan Moroney
  4. Grandpa (Tell Me ‘Bout The Good Old Days) [feat. Sonya Isaacs] – Cody Johnson
  5. Rockin’ With The Rhythm Of The Rain – Ashley McBryde and Shelly Fairchild
  6. Young Love (Strong Love) – Ella Langley and Jamey Johnson
  7. Have Mercy – LeAnn Rimes
  8. Love Is Alive – Gwen Stefani and Blake Shelton
  9. Had A Dream (For The Heart) – Wendy Moten and O.N.E The Duo
  10. I Know Where I’m Going – Barnett, Lynne & West
  11. Let Me Tell You About Love – Carl Perkins and Raul Malo
  12. John Deere Tractor – Rob Ickes & Trey Hensley and Molly Tuttle
  13. Cry Myself To Sleep – Wynonna Judd and Trisha Yearwood
  14. Love Can Build A Bridge – Jelly Roll, K. Michelle, and The Fisk Jubilee Singers

“Getting to be a part of celebrating Judds music is such an honor,” Yearwood said in a statement. “I’m a true fan, and singing with Wynonna has been a dream come true! I’m proud to be a part of honoring the music that Naomi and Wynonna created.”

A Tribute To The Judds will release on October 27. Listen to the new version of “Cry Myself To Sleep,” by Judd and Yearwood and reproduced by Cactus Moser, here:

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content