South Central Ohio police departments have been honored with AAA’s Platinum Community Traffic Safety Award for their safety activities.

Twelve additional departments that excelled in making their communities safer. Other departments will receive Gold, Silver or Bronze Awards.

Fourteen departments will receive awards including: Chillicothe, Greenfield, Hillsboro, Jackson, McArthur, Piketon, Seaman, Washington Court House, Waverly and Wellston Police Departments; Ohio State Highway Patrol Posts in Athens and Chillicothe; and Jackson and Ross County Sheriff’s Department.