Applications Open for Statehouse Fellowship Program.

State Senator Bob Peterson (R-Washington Court House) has announced that the Ohio Legislative Service Commission is accepting applications through April 1, 2018 for the 2019 Legislative and Telecommunications Fellowship Program. The Commission will hire 24 fellows to serve in the Ohio General Assembly for the 2019 calendar year.

“This program is a great opportunity for anyone interested in starting a career in government affairs or public service," said Senator Peterson. "There have been a number of hard working LSC Fellows who have helped in my office that went on to have impressive careers in state and local government. I hope to continue to see young professionals from our community get involved in this next class of fellows.”

Legislative fellows are immersed in the Ohio legislative process by assisting members of the Ohio General Assembly with constituent work, writing press releases, performing legislative research, attending meetings and performing various administrative duties. Telecommunications fellows assist in televising House and Senate proceedings and in preparing educational video productions about the General Assembly and the legislative process.  Fellows receive full state of Ohio employee benefits and are paid $31,200 per year, with the opportunity to earn a $2,000 bonus based on length of service in the program.  

The legislative fellowship program is open to graduates of all major fields of study who have a genuine interest in learning about state government, and no political experience is required. The telecommunications fellow candidates must have majored or minored in a telecommunications-related field of study or have comparable experience. To be eligible, applicants must have graduated from a four-year college degree program by the December start date. Persons holding graduate or professional degrees may also apply.

Legislative fellowship application materials must be postmarked by April 1, 2018 to be considered for the program. The application deadline for the telecommunications applicants is April 30, 2018.

For more information and application instructions, please visit:

Ohio Legislative Service Commission Fellowship Coordinators Vern Riffe Center 77 South High Street, Ninth Floor Columbus, OH  43215-6136(614) 466-3615 or

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content