Logan Elm Claims Battle Over Books Championship

The ninth annual Pickaway County High School Battle Over Books competition was held March 23 at the Pickaway County Library. Eleven teams from six high schools participated. In all, 63 students competed in the event. Teams earned points in a quiz-show format by correctly answering questions identifying of one of the 10 books on the reading list.

This year’s books included such titles as “Positive,” a non-fiction title by Paige Rawl about HIV and bullying; “The Boy Who Loved Too Much,” a non-fiction title about a genetic disorder that makes people biologically incapable of distrust; “Asylum” by Madeleine Roux; “One of Us Is Lying” by Karen McManus; and “Shattered Warrior” by Sharon Shinn.

Logan Elm High School reclaimed the championship trophy. Participants on the winning team were Ashton Cotton, Isabelle Wilson, Rachel Noble, Taera Trachsel, Zane Stant, Dylan Cameron, Elizabeth Paul and Paege Trachsel. The team was coached by library tech Kim Glick.

Westfall High School was the runner up this year. Participants for Westfall High School were Peyton Bachstetter, Lauren Daniels, Lillian Fox, Hannah Johnston, Trinity Marcum, Kayce Martin, Olivia O’Neill, Megan O’Quin, Grace Poole, Emma Rowe, Abby Stepp, Hannah Thomas and Mason Tirtonegoro-Potts. The team was coached by school librarian Cheryl Lorson.

Participants for Teays Valley High School were Dawson Altizer, Taylor Barrick, Gilianne Heitman, Sierra Hinton, Colton Kime, Trisha Kromer, Hannah McClarren, Samantha Posey, Megan Sadler and Olivia Watt. The team was coached by school librarian Lisa Campbell.

Participants for Circleville were Dylan Brooks, Morgan Cordell, Emily Dengler, Anthony Fauver, Adriana Harlan, McKenzie Henry, Kayli Imler, Heather Miller, Jenna Osborne, Rupesh Patel, Carter Ward, Jonathon Weston and Logan Wolfe. The team was coached by district librarian Trent Roberts.

Participants for Logan-Hocking High School were Tori Colliton, Addi Decot, Dani Green, Tessa Luicart, Kelli Mann, Grace Mullett, Caitlin Prideau, Grace Smith and Alyicia Young. The team was coached by language arts teacher Ben Taulbee.

Participants from Unioto High School were Lyndsey Barlett, Joel Brown, Emily Hensley, Dallas Mollohan, Sarah Quanci and Kayleigh Schaiseil. The team was coached by library & media specialist Melissa Lawson.

Serving as scorekeepers, readers and timers were Jenny Rainey from the Savings Bank, Marie Wilbanks with the Pickaway County Board of DD, Sharyn Blecha and Elaine Cook from the Friends of the Library, Karla Barnes from the Library Board of Trustees and David Fausnaugh and Michelle Callahan from the Pickaway County Library.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content