Ross Board of Health Selects New Health Commissioner, Medical Director

The Ross County Board of Health has announced that Dr. Courtney Little has been selected as the next Ross County Health Commissioner and Medical Director, effective October 1, 2019. Current Health Commissioner/Medical Director, Dr. Jeffrey Hill, will be staying with the health district through the remainder of 2019 to assist with the on boarding process and transition.

The Ross County Health District currently operates with a combined Health Commissioner/Medical Director position. The Health Commissioner serves as the chief executive officer of the health department and, with the Board of Health, delegates the direct supervision of all staff to the Administrator. The Medical Director, a requirement through the Ohio Revised Code, is responsible for development and evaluation of standards of medical care throughout the district, providing medical direction and advising the district in matters of medical policy.

"My passion for nutrition and preventive health, and my love for the people of this community motivated me to accept the position of Medical Director/ Health Commissioner. A lot of exciting things are happening at the health department to address and improve the health needs of our community, and I am excited to be a part of that." Said Dr. Courtney Little

Dr. Little comes to the health district with experience in Internal Medicine and is currently a primary care physician at Adena Health System. She received her bachelor's degree from The Ohio State University majoring in nutrition and a master's degree in Public Health through Ohio University where she also received her doctoral degree. Dr. Little was raised in Southern Ohio and focuses on prevention and wellness education.

"It is an exciting time at the health district as we continue to see growth and make strides towards improving the health and safety of our community and we look forward to knowledge and experience Dr. Little will bring to our agency," said Ben Avery, Ross County Health District Administrator.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content