Area Coaches Recognized with OHSAA Sportsmanship, Ethics & Integrity Awards

The Ohio High School Athletic Association is recognizing Ohio high school coaches for their commitment to sportsmanship, ethics and integrity in high school athletics.

OHSAA Executive Director Doug Ute on Monday announced the coaches recognized by coaches associations for both high school boys’ and girls’ athletics.

Locally, Vinton County Boys' Golf Coaches Jeff Rinkes, Terry Hales, and Duncan Falls Philo received Sportsmanship recognition with Zane Trace Girls’ Golf Coach Aaron Lemaster, and Leesburg Fairfield Girls’ Golf Coach Linda Kessler also receiving recognition.

2022-23 OHSAA Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Winners:

Boys Sports:

Golf: Jeff Rinkes, Duncan Falls Philo & Terry Hale, McArthur Vinton County

Cross Country: Bob Donelson, Oberlin Firelands

Soccer: David Antal, Copley

Football: Steve Hale, Olentangy Liberty

Swimming and Diving: Eric Peterson, Shaker Heights

Bowling: Bob Bobbitt, Beavercreek

Ice Hockey: Cliff Browne, Findlay

Wrestling: Chad Marzec, Findlay Liberty-Benton

Basketball: Jeff Lisath, Dayton Northridge

Tennis: Taylor Long, Ashland

Track and Field: Shawn Valloric, Bellaire

Baseball: David Burkett, Massillon Tuslaw

Volleyball: Zahra Collins, Toledo Scott

Lacrosse: Jake Kubasta, Medina

2022-23 OHSAA Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Winners:

Girls Sports:

Golf: Aaron Lemaster, Chillicothe Zane Trace & Linda Kessler, Fairfield

Cross Country: Paul Jones, Bascom Hopewell-Loudon

Volleyball: Mark Bunn, Van Buren

Soccer: Elizabeth Webb, Ashland Crestview

Field Hockey: Kara Whitlatch, Bexley

Swimming and Diving: Mark Sullivan, Mason

Bowling: Dennis Gordon, Bowerston Conotton Valley

Gymnastics: Liz Wojtkun, Parma Heights Holy Name

Wrestling: Will be announced in 2023-24

Basketball: Tyler McIlwraith, Cincinnati Seven Hills

Tennis: Jim Pukys, Canton McKinley

Track and Field: Frank Monk, Minerva

Softball: Rob Nelson, Lima Senior

Lacrosse: Will be announced in 2023-24

In other OHSAA news, the 103rd annual Boys’ State Tennis Tournament takes place this Thursday and Friday at Ohio State University’s Tennis Center. Waverly’s Caden Hibert and Cam McKenzie are set to play in the Division 2 Doubles Brackets. Waverly’s Matt Morrison is listed in the Division 2 Coaches bracket.

The OHSAA’s very first State Tournament for Boys’ Volleyball will also take place this weekend. None of the boys’ volleyball teams within our broadcast area will make a state appearance. The Westfall Mustangs Boys’ Volleyball team had made it to Division 2 post-season play this year, but they were ousted by Bishop Watterson back on May 13th. The Chillicothe Cavs also made it to the D2 post-season but were defeated by Columbus St. Charles on May 14th.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content